These are a few of my favorite things!

Hey there RYPEness! We are gearing up and ready to go for triathlon training season. Exciting times, right? Everyone is hopping back in the pool, dusting off those bikes and lacing up those shoes in preparation for early spring races. So I thought this would be a good time to talk about a few of my favorite things and why I like them.

Image

Aqua Sphere Kayenne Swim Goggles

When it comes to swimming, there is nothing more important than snug fitting, no leaky goggles. I mean, my swim cap can snap off, I have done a half ironman distance swim with no wetsuit….but if I have leaky goggles, that’s a jacked up situation! Aqua Sphere Kayenne goggles are my favs!

I personally like the blue tinted option…doesn’t affect me when swimming indoors and provides enough tint to ward off the sun glare when doing open water swims. The wider band around the sides creates a good suction, so they don’t leak. I still haven’t figured out how to avoid the “raccoon look” after a swim though.

Image

Nike Slides

Next on my list…a good pair of slides. Ease of wear is a no-brainer. But why slides over flip flops? Well, if you are wanting to pack light, and make it easy to keep it moving, even when wearing those cycle socks…slides are key. That morning of your race, when you are trying to be as organized as possible it makes it easy to have your socks on (thus stretching them out a bit, therefore making them easier to slip back on once you come out of the water) and then just slide into your slides. You can easily put that tri-bag on your back and ride your bike from your car to the transition area, no problemo. Great post-race too once your feet are ready to come out of those closed in sneakers. These double as shower shoes, kick around the house shoes, grocery store shoes, take out the trash shoes, what-have-you. The functionality is the same sans socks too!

Anyone who knows me knows that I am big on moisturized skin…especially my lips. There is nothing worse than cracked lips…on me or anyone else! I have these inexpensive, super moisturizing lip balms ALL OVER THE PLACE! Next to my bed, in my car, several in my purse, and…of course…in the bento bag on my bike!

Image
Cococare Lip Balm Cocoa Butter

True story…I almost panicked  when doing Ironman Florida when I hit a bump and my CocoCare came flying out my bag and into the ditch. What the heck was I going to do? Thank GOD for the extra one I’d packed, otherwise that bike cut off may not have been made! HA! Seriously though, I have yet to find another lip balm that last as long or doesn’t feel greasy. I will admit, applying while riding at 17 miles per hour can be kind of tricky…but I had to figure out a way to master it. LOL!!

HAPPY TRAINING!!

Image

Stumpy Creek International Distance Triathlon

Leave a Reply

