Hop On the RYPE “Train”

Hey there RYPEness!

Yep….I’m geeked…I’m excited….I’m happy…all that! Training is about to start for the Spring Team and I couldn’t be more thrilled about it!

ImageThe game plan for 2014 is set, and for me its just like Christmas morning to get the ball rolling! We had our Spring Team Kick Off this past Sunday…after it being rescheduled twice due to inclement weather. Inclement weather in Charlotte? Yeah, who would have thunk it? And for the two snow storms that we’ve had to come on the exact days that our Kick Off was scheduled makes me think I should have been playing the lottery!

First up on our plate is Tri Latta on June 14th. This is particularly special for me. You see…Tri Latta was my very first triathlon. For RYPE to have the opportunity to train a group of amazing women for a race that signifies the day I fell in love with this multi-sport gives me goose bumps. For some ladies it will be their first triathlon. For some who have done a couple, it will be there first experience with an open water swim. Either way, I am looking forward to seeing each of them cross the finish line, and – fingers crossed – get that same sense of overwhelming accomplishment that I did when I first crossed that exact same finish line.

Next Wednesday is our first swim. Since I know that most women are most apprehensive about the swim, I decided that before we start any triathlon specific training, we would have four clinics that focus solely on swimming….breaking it down to the bare elementary of sport. Regardless of swim ability, revisiting the basic techniques makes you a better swimmer. Period. So that’s what we are going to do! Also…I gotta tell you: I have an amazing team of swim coaches too. And I got them because they just WANTED to help, and they are equally as excited as I am!! It’s like a Divine charge all coming together!!!

*doing the ‘happy dance’ now*

I know I usually provide a blog full of helpful tips or a great recipe…but today I just wanted to write about being excited! I think more people should actually…because when I see or hear or read about someone’s excitement, it just makes me excited! And if everyone was in an excited mood, wouldn’t this be an amazing world to live in?

Imagine that.

So I’m excited y’all! I am excited to see RYPE’s plan being set into motion. I am excited about the group of awesome women that I get to work with. I am excited about witnessing their faces when they cross the finish line. I am excited about seeing that “ah ha!” moment when that one who couldn’t figure out her breathing technique get’s it. I am excited that, as a training ride, we are going to participate in the Tour de Cure; helping the American Diabetes Association find a cure for a disease that severely effects the African American community. I am excited that we have some really cool team nights planned. I am excited that the other day I had a young lady offer to be a run coach…literally she came up to me and said “I want to help with RYPE!” I am excited that we are doing the race that started this whole love affair for me. I am excited that the women training are excited! I’m excited that RYPE is inspiring women to TRI!!!!

EXCITING!

I am really looking forward to blogging about this season. I can tell this is a going to be a crazy fun group!!! Therefore, I’m excited about upcoming blog posts too! Whew…I just cannot seem to contain this excitement!

I see you smiling!

So all aboard this RYPE ‘train’…this is about to be an exciting season!

ImageHyped 2b RYPE!!

Leave a Reply

