Proper preparation prevents….

…showing up at the gym ready to get your “spin” on and realizing you forgot to pack your shoes.

ImageYep, that’s pretty much how my morning went. I had my day all planned out, starting with a nice 50 minute spin class followed by some good weight training, then off to some meetings, and finally some fun playing laser tag with my 13 year old mentee.

So why am I putting this on my blog? Well, because I want you to avoid derailing your fitness goals by always being prepared.  Your gym bag should be your “ready-set-go” bag. Just like we ensure that our “essentials” are always in our purse, we should approach our gym bag the same manner. To avoid the epic fail that I experienced this morning, I suggest you keep these key things in your bag at all times:

  1. Workout clothes. You never know what your day may throw at you! So make sure that you always have some quality workout threads (including socks!) that are ready to rock and roll whenever you are.
  2. Gym shoes. I know, these things are not cheap. But its a good idea (I am living proof) that having an extra pair of shoes in your bag prevents missed workouts due to being rushed or simple oversight. These shoes don’t necessarily have to be your best or favorite pair. They are there to serve the purpose of back up when our brains have that occasional fart.
  3. Workout log. Its important to keep track of your progress, if for no other reason than to see your victories! Everyone is motivated when they see themselves improving. So keep a little diary with you at all times to record your success. #motivation
  4. Water bottle. There is nothing more annoying then being thirsty and having to go locate the water fountain. So make sure you always have a spare water bottle to fill and tote around as you move through your workout. We all know that water intake is very important!

If you have just these 4 things, the chances of you experience my Saturday morning fail diminish to nearly zero. So learn from my mistakes, and lets stay on that healthy living bandwagon!

Hyped to be RYPE!!!

 

One response to “Proper preparation prevents….

  1. I’ve done this. I now keep a “go bag” in the car.

Leave a Reply

