Baby its cold outside!

Hey there RYPEness!!!

Living here in the Carolina’s, I am typically very spoiled by the winters. Since I was born and raised in Cincinnati, Ohio, then left there to take up residence in Chicago, Illinois, I am more than familiar with frigid temperatures.

Don’t mean I like them though!

I left top side purposely so that my exposure to the cold would be short-lived or non-existent! Well…it appears that us folks down here in the good ole south need to prepare ourselves for some cold temperatures this winter. We have definitely skirted the issue the last few years, but this particular year I think that Old Man Winter is going to pay us a few visits and embrace us with his frost.

That being said, what’s a sistah to do when she needs to get her run in? LAYER….strategically!

There is nothing worse than getting out on a run and freezing your tail off. Well, except to get out on a run and realize that you have over-done it with your gear and now you are sweating like a pig and on the brink of spontaneous combustion. Neither scenario gives me warm fuzzies about maintaining my run routine. So what’s a girl to do? GO SHOPPING!!! Oh yeah babeee!

Strategic shopping that is. We need to go get some really good base layers in our lives to make getting out and hitting that pavement more enjoyable. I am not going to go into the different technologies that are out there, seems that every brand has come up with one. From Columbia that uses these little silver dots to reflect your own body heat to keep you warm, to Gore who uses wind guard so that the cold air just wont get through; most reputable brands have developed something that keeps your warm and dry. So find what works best for you.

IMG_2471[1]

Columbia’s Omni Heat Reflective

I ran in the 25th Annual Turkey Trot yesterday, and at race start it was 23 degrees. ANYONE will tell you that in most cases, I would have bowed out gracefully and simply not run. But I knew I’d picked up some nice pieces from TrySports and wanted to find out if they really worked. YEP! They sure do! My hands and head were kept extremely toasty wearing Columbia’s Omni Heat hats and gloves, the gloves were so cool that they have the little finger tips that allow you to use your touch screen on your phone. What in the world did we ever do before that little piece of technology was developed? I kept my torso warm by wearing Mizuno’s Breath Thermo. Their cool technology uses special threads that heat up once your body’s sweat hits it. On my legs I just wore a good pair of running tights that were fleece lined, so I was all good!! As a matter of fact, I was TOO hot! However, it didn’t have to do with my cool, selective running gear, instead more to do with the fleece/felt turkey costume that I ran in.

The TrySports Turkey!

The TrySports Turkey!

So…all this to say, no need to ix-nay your run workout just because the mercury plummets. Instead, invest in some really good key pieces that will keep you warm and dry, then go out an enjoy fitness in the freeze!

Hyped 2b RYPE!

Leave a Reply

