FUN in your RUN

Good morning RYPEness!

First let me give a shout out to the Louisville Cardinals for their National Championship win last night…and Coach Rick Pitino for being the first coach to ever win two National Championships from two different schools!!! That was probably one of the best games ever!! Kudos to the Michigan team because you surely played your hearts out!!

So…remember yesterday I told you to get your race schedule together to build that momentum and motivation needed to be consistent with your training? Well, let’s piggy-back off of that. Include some FUN in your RUN! Look around, its not hard to see that fitness has become a focus in this country (about dang-gone time!). As a result, we are seeing more and more races show up on the scene….more and more creatively FUN races! Do you know how much being surrounded by “fun” energy helps get you through the event? I remember when I did IRONMAN Florida, I looked forward to the aid stations because they were all themed (there was a Christmas themed one, a superheroes one, a medieval themed, etc.) I would get distracted from the fact that I was ONLY on mile 64 out of 112 because I was focused on getting to the next aid station to see what was in store! Endurance events are actually ones that will welcome a distraction…I mean, there is only so much focusing on form I can do when I have to run or bike for hours on end, know what I mean?!

Race schedules are out now…so Google “fun runs” or “fun triathlons” in your area and get those on your schedule. Grab a bunch of your friends to join you! I am sure you have that one friend that swears they “can’t” run or that a triathlon is too much for them. Once you get them to do one, I will bet money they will do another! It’s just so empowering to do your first event, especially when you were your own naysayer, and cross that finish line. It WILL change your life and outlook….forever!

I created a Team RYPE for the Electric Run that is coming here to Charlotte! If you are in this area, come join us! It’s going to be a blast!! But if you aren’t, check the list because this event just might be coming to your city too! And if it’s not, I know there are some cool, fun, different events that you can motivate your friends to participate in with you.

Start a movement near you to “Realize Your Potential Everyday!…to be healthy: mind, body and soul!”

Keep it RYPE!!

Electric Run

 

Leave a Reply

