Why Tri?

Hey there RYPEness!

I am sooooo super excited!! Why you ask? Charlotte is getting their very own 70.3 triathlon! YAY!!

OK, I see some blank faces.

A 70.3 triathlon (or a Half Ironman distance) is a 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike and a 13.1 mile run….and I LOVE this distance! Basically because I am not fast, at all. I am better at being steady and consistent, as opposed to exploding out of the starting blocks. Those distances allow me to find my grove and stay in it for a while before moving on to the next event.

And now Charlotte is getting it’s very own! When thinking about the bike portion, my heart just flutters! Fifty-six miles through the rural areas of beautiful North Carolina? Man oh man…I am soooo stoked. Rolling hills and beautiful country….it don’t get no better than that!

Aren’t you getting excited too? Actually, I think you should join me! Because one of my biggest dreams…..the foundation of why RYPE was founded….is to be in one of these long distance triathlons and see a bunch of brown faces like mine racing too! I shed tears at the mere thought of it and know that one day, that dream will come true. AND!!…it would be nice if that dream was realized on September 28th at the inaugural Charlotte Half!

Think about it y’all!! Training plan information soon come!

Hyped 2b RYPE!!!

Picture 030

Leave a Reply

