Why Tri?

Hey there RYPEness!

In the years since I first came up with the concept of RYPE, I have had a lot of sistahs ask me, “why triathlons?” Well…that really is a good question. We have a good number of awesome groups that focus on running, and I think that running is an EXCELLENT way to stay in shape. However, the feeling of empowerment that comes from completing three different events, all in succession, is unlike anything I have ever felt. That first time I crossed the finish line, I was hooked….and immediately knew it was a feeling that I wanted all of my sistah-friends to experience. So….that was the initial answer to “why triathlons?”.

Then I started doing some research. There are a plethora of reasons why YOU should do a triathlon…be it your first or fourth! I am going to share one with you right now:

You Will Look and Feel Years Younger

How about that? Who doesn’t want to feel AND LOOK younger? As we get older, our families, our jobs, this hectic hustle and bustle life begins to just take over. We therefore begin to neglect our bodies, and over time, we gradually accept lower standards of fitness, of health — and therefore of living. Worse, we don’t even realize how bad we feel, until we wake up and get fit again.

Training for a triathlon  reconnects you with your body and makes you feel like you haven’t felt in years! You begin to feel young, energetic, beautiful and powerful…EMPOWERED! Those daily tasks that use to give you fits are mere drops in the bucket. Anything is attainable, because RYPEness…YOU DID A TRIATHLON!  And then the kicker to all of this? Not only will you feel years younger but you’ll LOOK better than ever, too. Triathletes are legendary for having some of the best physiques in the fitness world. That is because cross-training shapes the body in complementary ways: running develops long, lean muscles; cycling builds strength and tones your lower body; and swimming increases your flexibility and sculpts your upper body. Take a look at any triathlete over age 55 and you’ll see what I mean. These people have the look — and swagger — of 20- and 30-somethings. I have seen it! The first Half Ironman Triathlon I did (1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike, 13.1 mile run) I had a lady with the numbers 76 on the back of her calf (that represents your age!!) blow past me on the bike and I never saw her again till the finish….where she was doing cartwheels to the podium to accept her medal for finishing first in her age group. How. Bout. THAT!

So…let’s get it in gear ladies! The season is upon us, and RYPE has a few good races on the calendar! First up….Huntersville Sprint Triathlon 2013 is right around the corner, April 28th to be exact. I’m registered…so you should join me!

Aint nuthin to it but to do it, cause TRI-ING IS SEXY!

Hyped 2b RYPE!

Leave a Reply

